

# THE ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING FOR THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE SASKATCHEWAN RIVERS SCHOOL DIVISION NO. 119

Board Room, Education Centre 545 – 11<sup>th</sup> Street East, Prince Albert, SK

Monday, November 3, 2014 5:00 p.m.

## **AGENDA**

- 1. CALL TO ORDER BY R. BRATVOLD, DIRECTOR OF EDUCATION
- 2. ADOPTION OF AGENDA
- 3. ELECTION OF BOARD CHAIR
- 4. ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIR
- 5. DEPUTY CHAIR ROTATION SET AT THE OCTOBER 30, 2012 MEETING AS FOLLOWS:

November, 2014 **Rodney Thomson** December, 2014, January, February, 2015 Jeanette Wicinski-Dunn March, April, May, 2015 **Grant Gustafson** June, September, October, 2015 Arne Lindberg November, December, 2015, January, 2016 George McHenry February, March, April, 2016 John McIvor May, June, September, 2016 Darlene Rowden October, 2016 Jaimie Smith-Windsor

#### 6. APPOINTMENT OF:

(a) Auditor:

**Motion to Move into Closed Session** 

(b) Agent of Record (Insurance Agent or Broker):

## Recommendation:

"That Marsh Canada Limited be the agent of record for the school division for the year 2015."

(c) Solicitor:

### **Recommendation:**

"That Barry Wilcox of the firm of Wilcox and Chovin Law Offices be the solicitor for the school division for the year 2015."

#### 7. ESTABLISH THE FOLLOWING:

#### (a) Regular meeting date, hour and place:

#### Recommendation:

"That the Regular meetings of the Saskatchewan Rivers Public School Division be held, subject to change, the first and third Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m., with the Closed Session at 5:00 p.m., in the Board Room, Education Centre, 545 - 11<sup>th</sup> Street East, and that the Board Chair and the Director of Education be authorized to cancel a Regular meeting if the agenda does not warrant holding a meeting."

## (b) Committee of the Whole/Strategic Planning meeting date, hour and place:

A copy of the Committee of the Whole/Strategic Planning meetings for 2014-2015 school year is attached.

#### Recommendation:

"That the Committee of the Whole/Strategic Planning meetings of Saskatchewan Rivers Public School Division for 2014-2015 be approved."

## (c) Approval of accounts:

#### **Recommendation:**

"That the Chief Financial Officer be authorized for the year 2015, in accordance with Section 105(B) of <u>The Education Act, 1995</u>, to certify all accounts for payment with the exception of final payments on capital projects."

### (d) Signing officers for the school division:

#### Recommendation:

"That the Board Chair and the Chief Financial Officer be the signing officers for the school division, with the Vice-Chair to sign in the absence of the Board Chair and the Manager of Financial Services to sign in the absence of the Chief Financial Officer for the year 2015."

## (e) Amount of temporary credit with a financial institution in Prince Albert: Recommendation:

"That the School Division establish with Conexus Credit Union a credit limit of five million dollars for the year 2015."

#### (f) Hours of Public Access to All Central Offices:

#### Recommendation:

"That public access to the Education Centre/Support Services Centre during regular hours be from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. and during summer hours be from 8:00 a.m. to 2:30 p.m. Monday to Friday except for statutory holidays."

## (g) <u>Taxable portion of indemnity to be paid members during the year:</u> Recommendation:

"That for the year 2015, 2/3 of the trustee indemnity be shown as income and the other 1/3 be declared as non-taxable in lieu of general expenses and so shown on the T-4 slips."

## (h) <u>Trustee Remuneration Guidelines:</u>

West Central Public School

A copy of the current guidelines are attached.

## **Recommendation:**

EXTE (a)	(TERNAL BOARD APPOINTMENTS: )				
(a)	Out of Scope Bargaining Committee (Board Chair/Vice-Chair):				
	2013-2014 2015				
		2014-2015			
	Barry Hollick				
	Jaimie Smith-Windsor				
(b)	Operational Committee:				
	Student Discipline Committee:				
	2013-2014	2014-2015			
	Grant Gustafson	<u>========</u>			
	Arne Lindberg				
	John McIvor	-			
			-		
	Wayne Steen				
	• Principal Selection Committee:				
	<u>2013-2014</u>	<u>2014-2015</u>			
	Darlene Rowden				
(c)	Committees with Third Parties:				
(-)	Saskatchewan High School Athletic Association:				
	2013-2014	2014-2015			
	Darlene Rowden	2014-2015			
	banene nowaen	-			
	Public Section Executive Member	er:			
	<u>2013-2014</u>	<u>2014-2015</u>			
	Wayne Steen				
	Public Section Executive Member:				
	2013-2014	2014-2015			
	Wayne Steen	2014 2015			
	wayne steen				
	<ul> <li>Prince Albert District Planning Commission (appointed in June 16, 2014)</li> </ul>				
	<u>2013-2014</u>	<u>2014-2015</u>			
	Darlene Rowden				
(d)	School Community Council Groups:	chool Community Council Groups:			
The c	urrent School Community Council Clusters	are as follows:			
Clust	er 1:	2013-2014	<u>2014-201</u>		
-	St. Louis Public School	Darlene Rowden			
_	Westview Public School	Dariette Nowaett			

Alternate:

Wayne Steen

...4

Cluster 2: - Canwood Public School	2013-2014 Rodney Thomson	2014-2015	
<ul> <li>Prince Albert Collegiate Institute (PACI)</li> <li>Spruce Home Public School Alternate:</li> </ul>	Jaimie Smith-Windsor		
<ul><li>Cluster 3:</li><li>Arthur Pechey Public School</li><li>Carlton Comprehensive Public High School</li></ul>	2013-2014 Barry Hollick	2014-2015	
- John Diefenbaker Public School Alternate:	George McHenry		
<ul><li>Cluster 4:</li><li>East Central Public School</li><li>Riverside Public School</li></ul>	2013-2014 Grant Gustafson	2014-2015	
- W.J. Berezowsky Public School Alternate:	Arne Lindberg		
Cluster 5: - Christopher Lake Public School - Meath Park Public School	2013-2014 Jaimie Smith-Windsor	<u>2014-2015</u>	
	Alternate: Grant Gustafson		
<ul><li>Cluster 6:</li><li>Big River Public High School</li><li>Debden Public School</li></ul>	2013-2014 Jeanette Wicinski-Duni	<b>2014-2015</b>	
	nate: John McIvor		
Cluster 7: - Birch Hills Public School - King Coorgo Bublic School	<b>2013-2014</b> Wayne Steen	<u>2014-2015</u>	
<ul> <li>King George Public School</li> <li>Kinistino Public School</li> <li>Altern</li> </ul>	nate: Darlene Rowden		
Cluster 8: - Osborne Public School	2013-2014 Arne Lindberg	2014-2015	
<ul> <li>Princess Margaret Public School</li> <li>Wesmor High Public School</li> </ul> Altern	nate: Rodney Thoms	on	
Cluster 9: - École Vickers Public School - Vincent Massey Public School	2013-2014 George McHenry	2014-2015	
- Red Wing Public School Alternate:	Barry Hollick		
Cluster 10: - Shellbrook Public School - Wild Rose Public School	<u>2013-2014</u> John McIvor	<u>2014-2015</u>	
	e: Jeanette Wicinski-Dun	n	

## Recommendation:

"That the appointments to the respective Boards and Committees be ratified."